Embrace sucking at something to become good

-Dude, suckin' at

I love to learn. Most people make New Year resolutions, get fit, travel, or get a new job. I never make a New Year resolution. What I do instead is on my birthday I focus on something I want to learn for the next year. I moved to Japan 2 1/2 years ago and my birthday goal was to learn Japanese. The following year was learn how to surf . Last year I wanted to learn how to play the koto( a Japanese zither) and get some coding skills. I played the piano for 12  years and I know how to read music. My koto sensei only spoke Japanese and I spoke a little but I was surprised on how much I understood her. I had to learn kanji to read the koto sheet music and watch intently when she showed me something. It was the love I have for music and my teacher’s passion for the koto that I progress as fast as I did. Learning how to code on the other hand was a completely different experience. The first programming language I learnt was python. I was learning on my own and I didn’t have any meet-up groups I could attend. It was a lonely journey. It was so unbelievably bad at coding and it was so frustrating.

I_suck

But the thing is I thoroughly enjoyed learning something new every day. First is was just understanding the terms and syntax. Then getting familiar with how loops work. I struggled every step of the way. My husband could see how difficult it was for me and he asked me why do I enjoy it when I am so bad at it? I was taken aback. I don’t think he meant any malice in his comment but rather to understand my motivation to continue. I replied, “Because when I get up in the morning I can’t wait to get started.” It’s easy to quit and throw your hands up in the arm and say, “That’s it! I’m done!” 

That isn’t how I view life. It takes a long time to get good at something. I know this. I don’t have a problem taking my time or going over a concept 2,3, or even 5 times. I am committed to pushing the stuff I can’t remember from my short-term memory to my long-term memory. If I look back a year ago I can’t believe how much I’ve learnt and improved. In fact, if you had a time machine and went back to show me what I did in a year. I don’t think I would have believed my progress

This year I decided to learn Ruby.  The second iteration of learning basic foundation computer language was much better this time around. Even though I still struggle one thing that hasn’t change is my excitement to learn more every day. So, I keep on going and every day I get a little better and better. I can’t wait for my next birthday to see how far I have come.

its_my_bday

Leave a Reply

